University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

NAAB Accreditation

National Architectural Accreditation Board (NAAB) Statement on Accreditation

In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted a 6-year, 3-year, or 2-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Noted in particular were three NAAB criteria that the School of Architecture and Planning has met “with distinction”: comprehensive design; applied research skills; and collaboration, both among students, between students and faculty, and across the disciplines at UB.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may consist of a pre-professional undergraduate degree and a professional graduate degree that, when earned sequentially, constitute an accredited professional education. However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree. The University at Buffalo is the only campus in the State University of New York system to offer the accredited professional master of architecture (MArch) degree. The University at Buffalo School of Architecture and Planning offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:

  • MArch 2-Year (pre-professional undergraduate degree + 64 graduate credits
  • MArch 3.5-Year (non-pre-professional undergraduate degree + 112 graduate credits)

Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2023

UB Architecture Accreditation Information